Home services

California regional stay-at-home order: This is what’s going to shut within the San Francisco Bay Space beginning Sunday

SAN FRANCISCO (KGO) – Governor Gavin Newsom announced that new home stay restrictions are on the way as the coronavirus spreads out of control in California and overwhelms hospital and intensive care unit capacity.

The state orders the new home stay restrictions to take effect if a region’s ICU capacity drops below 15%. However, five boroughs in the Bay Area decided to move ahead with this plan and introduce new restrictions as early as Sunday.

BAY AREA NEWEST: 5 boroughs in the Bay Area taking a home stay order starting Sunday without waiting for the state’s schedule
When a stay at home order begins, the following must be changed:

  • Restaurants would dine both indoors and outdoors. They could only take away or delivery.
  • Bars and wineries have to close (indoors and outdoors)
  • Hair salons, barber shops, nail salons and other personal care services are forced to close
  • All retail stores can remain open but must reduce capacity to 20%
  • Private gatherings of any size are prohibited

Schools that have already received a waiver to reopen can stay open. All “critical infrastructures” can also remain open.

The new restrictions will last for a minimum of three weeks and then will be reviewed weekly based on the ICU capacity.

NEWSOM LATEST: Governor Newsom Announces New Regional Home Stay in California Order

In addition, all non-essential trips are “temporarily nationwide” and take effect immediately, regardless of whether there is a stay at home order in your county. Hotels and motels are now only reserved for guests traveling for a “substantial” reason.

The five boroughs in the Bay Area already subject to restrictions on Sunday are: Alameda, Contra Costa, Marin, San Francisco, and Santa Clara boroughs. The other counties in the Bay Area region waiting for the time being are Counties of Monterey, Napa, San Mateo, Santa Cruz, Solano, and Sonoma. These districts will not have any new restrictions until the region reaches the 15% ICU bed remaining threshold.

The state is divided into five regions:

  • Northern California, ICU capacity at 18.6%: Del Norte, Glenn, Humboldt, See, Lassen, Mendocino, Modoc, Shasta, Siskiyou, Tehama, Trinity
  • Bay Area, intensive capacity at 25.4%: Alameda, Contra Costa, Marin, Monterey, Napa, San Francisco, San Mateo, Santa Clara, Santa Cruz, Solano, Sonoma
  • Greater Sacramento, ICU capacity at 22%: Alpin, Amador, Butte, Colusa, El Dorado, Nevada, Placer, Plumas, Sacramento, Sierra, Sutter, Yolo, Yuba
  • San Joaquin Valley, ICU capacity at 19.7%: Calaveras, Fresno, Kern, Kings, Madera, Mariposa, Merced, San Benito, San Joaquin, Stanislaus, Tulare, Tuolumne
  • Southern California, ICU capacity at 20.6%: Imperial, Inyo, Los Angeles, Mono, Orange, Riverside, San Bernardino, San Diego, San Luis Obispo, Santa Barbara, Ventura

If you have a question or comment about the coronavirus pandemic, submit yours using the form below or here.

Get the latest news, information and videos on the novel coronavirus pandemic here


Copyright © 2021 KGO-TV. All rights reserved.

Related Articles

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Back to top button